Bali 2010 – Part I

So, I’ve been back from Bali for a week! And then it was busy, busy, busy, ‘cos Daddy was admitted and I was shuttling from home to work to the hospital to school. It’s just rush, rush, rush everyday since I came back.

Finally have some time to sit down in front of my computer to blog about the trip since I have some time to spare before going for a wedding lunch!

I’m going to do this in chronological order, from Day 1 to Day 4, so that I don’t miss out anything.

28 September

Took the mid-morning flight to Bali on Airasia, at 10am. Mummy sent me off to the airport because I was taking the flight alone. Ms Han was joining me 6 hours later. Haha, long story, don’t ask.

It was my first time taking a flight alone, luckily it was only for 2.5 hours, so I slept. And tried to read.

Dan Brown’s, The Lost Symbol. I still haven’t finished, btw. Argh.

‘Twas an uneventful flight, very smooth, but we were delayed for 15 minutes, so the poor driver from the villa had to wait for me.

Sat beside a really nice couple, forgot to bring a pen and they lent me one. Hahaha.

The queue at the immigration was not terribly long, but the guy at my counter took really long to process each passenger. Meh. Super slow poke.

By the time I finished with all these, it was nearly 2pm already. I touched down at 12.45pm lah. Not to mentioned I waited in the wrong queue for a while. Hahaha.

The villa I booked had provided for 2-way transfer to and from the airport, so I didn’t have to haggle with the taxi drivers outside for a trip to the villa. But I heard from Ms Han who had to take a taxi to the villa ‘cos she’s one flight later than me, the fare from the airport to the villa at Seminyak costs IDR100,00 which is about S$15. Cheap, considering the villa quoted me US$25 for one way extra. *horrified look*

Dejabu Villas

The journey from the airport to the villa took about 20 minutes because there were SOOOO many cars on the roads! At 2.30pm?? Don’t know where they’re going lah, we passed by Planet Hollywood, the GIGANTIC DFS Galleria and finally reached the villa.

Finally arrived at the villa! And this is mine! No.2. There’s a small pavilion thing outside, the living area, and deck chairs for sunbathing.

Looks good eh! But it’s horrifying to be alone inside after night falls because all the non-human population starts coming out to play and hunt for food. Gah.

And night fall in Bali is super early, the sun starts to set at about 6pm! By 7pm, it’s all dark. -____-”

Ms Han ETA at Denpasar airport was 6.30pm, and by the time she reached the villa, it’s 8.30pm already. And I had to endure 2 hours of darkness alone. OMG.

Well, I wasn’t alone. There were 3 lizards, COUNTLESS OF FLIES, a few bugs and 2 frogs.

Really.

Luckily I had the foresight to book a spa session at Murano Spa so I won’t be rotting alone in the villa. I was having the seasalt bath treatment. Very shiok!

The masseuse was very strong lah so my massage was a bit more torturous than enjoyment. Hahaha, but overall it was still very good, love the flower bath at the end. Teehee.

Photos of the spa in Day 3’s post, wait for it.

When Ms Han finally arrived at the villa (longest 8 hours in my life!), she settled in and we went out for dinner at Rumours. Found out about this restaurant from Jenny, who’s going in November but already did ALL the research for her trip. Hahaha, well, lucky me, ‘cos I got to reap the rewards of her EXTENSIVE research. 😛

I was planning for 3 nights of dinner at Rumours because, 1. it’s DIRT CHEAP, compared to Singapore, 2. it’s super near our villa (10 mins via taxi), 3. I didn’t want to risk getting food poisoning from eating at the local stalls since that’d mean going to the doctors (don’t know if I can trust their skills, :X) and one of us will be left alone at any one point of time.

No photos of the food because I was too hungry and it was too dark for photos anyway. Flash will ruin everything. Ha.

I had the black pepper steak and Ms Han had the fish & chips. We also shared a seafood soup (tomato-based) and  a caesar salad between us. The food wasn’t too bad but I think I should have ordered my steak medium rare instead of medium well because it came too WELL. So it turned out to be a tad too dry. Sobs.

The bill was cheap though. Heh. I think it was about S$30? Cheap lah, by Singapore’s standards. Hoho, a meal like that with 2 sides, 2 mains, 2 drinks would cost at least S$60 in a restaurant in Singapore.

We took a walk to Seminyak Square just down the road, plenty of surf brands like Quiksilver, Roxy, a bookstore (BALI HAS CHEAP BOOKS, The Lost Symbol was selling at S$10 there. -___-“) and a gourmet supermarket.

They didn’t have 7-11s there, but K-marts are aplenty! Sometimes just 2 doors away from each other. Ha.

Never fear that you’ll run out of Coke or water or tidbits!

And that’s the end of day 1! Cabbed back to the villa and prepared for an early day the next day ‘cos we’re going to WATERBOM! Exciting!

Read Bali 2010 – Part IIPart III and Part IV

2 thoughts on “Bali 2010 – Part I

Leave a comment